© Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal 2017

Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal held its 120th Annual General Meeting on 29 June 2021, online via the MS Teams platform. The time-honoured ceremony saw Bhekisisa Samson Ngcongo of Dambuza Community Development Trust elected to a third consecutive term as President of the Association.

In his address to members, the President stated that the past year had been marred by the onslaught of the COVID-19 pandemic and restrictions, yet it was pleasing to note that amidst this tumultuous period, the Association weathered the storm and made every effort to keep the Association and industry afloat.

The President commended the Association and the Executive Director for the lead role played alongside other industry stakeholders, in uniting the industry to speak with one voice under the banner of Construction Alliance South Africa (CASA).  “This marked a significant shift for the South African construction industry, with collaborative efforts on the radar to find joint industry solutions.” 

The Executive Director reported on the Association activities for the period under review stating that the Association had performed well, despite the many challenges that manifested from the COVID-19 pandemic. The Association once again boasted an unqualified audit and it was encouraging that membership figures were retained at 711 at the close of the financial year, having recruited 82 new members. 

It was noted that in order to help members navigate the severe financial challenges that disrupted the industry in 2020, the Association applied a significant fee discount to membership fees. Members were also provided with information on health and safety protocols and a COVID-19 site induction video. The Annual Review document was circulated to the membership electronically.

Congratulations to the Executive Council for the next term of office:

  • Bhekisisa Samson Ngcongo - Dambuza Community Development Trust - (President)
  • Joyce Dolly Tembe - Sakhisizwe Development Training - (Immediate Past President)
  • Patricia Moodley - Globacon (Pty) Ltd - (Vice-President)
  • Lance Ridl - Ridl Construction (Pty) Ltd - (Vice-President)
  • Marcus Gonzalves - F.S. Gonzalves Construction - (Vice-President)
  • Moegamat Behardien - MET Developments (Pty) Ltd
  • Vivekananda Venketas Naidoo - 2C Projects CC
  • Thys Blom - Plankonsult
  • Craig Gainsford - GVK-Siya Zama Building Contractors (Pty) Ltd
  • Francois Louw - MET Builders (Pty) Ltd
  • Thobekile Ndlovu - Thobethulani Trading CC
  • Ash Sewraj - Deck, Steel and Concrete CC
  • Mark Stewart - Stefanutti Stocks (Pty) Ltd
  • Kalwyn Ramiah - WBHO Construction (Pty) Ltd
  • Nelson Rodrigues - Grinaker-LTA - (co-opted)