© Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal 2017

Excellence awards

The Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal Excellence in Construction programme is aimed at recognizing and acknowledging excellence in building and construction. The pursuit of excellence in construction is a particularly important calling, as buildings have a profound effect on their occupants and its users – influencing and shaping the way in which we live, learn, work, contemplate and relax. 

The excellence awards competition was launched in 2004 by Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal and was the first of its kind for a South African Building Association. It has since gone from strength to strength. 

The programme is open to all Association Members who are able to enter projects that they have recently completed. The adjudicators are industry veterans and include retired architect and two former managing directors of major contracting companies. They inspect the projects entered and evaluate the standard of construction, by judging the process and the quality of the end product. 

Previous entrants have found the programme to be a superb opportunity to showcase their work. The award not only gives tangible credibility to the promotion of excellence in the industry, it also provides a powerful marketing tool to the contractor and instils a tremendous amount of pride for the owners of the building. 

2018 Special Awards Winners

Award of Merit - Howard Schwegmann from Stefanutti Stocks

Award for Woman in Construction - Thandi Florintine Ngcobo from Zamadunga Business Enterprise CC.

Supplier of the Year – Safintra South Africa

Safety Person of the Year – Kelvin Moodley from WBHO Construction, KwaZulu-Natal Division.

Supreme Award for Excellence in Health and Safety - AVENG GRINAKER-LTA for Henwood Road Plant Yard.

Supreme Award for Excellence in Construction - WBHO Construction (Pty) Ltd , KwaZulu-Natal

Division for ABSA Regional Office KwaZulu-Natal.

Overall Winner - Stefanutti Stocks Building KZN

Annual Awards 2019 will take place on 18 October 2019 at Durban ICC.