© Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal 2017

2015 excellence 

The Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal 2015 Excellence in construction awards evening is the premier gala event at which KwaZulu-Natal companies showcase their work, celebrate their achievements and gain recognition for excellence in Construction and Health and Safety.

The prestigious annual event took place on Friday 23 October 2015 at Sibaya Casino and Entertainment Centre where the Association hosted approximately 500 guests, including the competition entrants, industry stakeholders, government representatives and members of the media.

Mr Mogamat Behardien, President of Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal opened the event by welcoming guests and dignitaries. Dignitaries who attended included Councillor Logie Naidoo, Speaker for eThekwini Municipality.

The President congratulated all entrants on the superb quality of work appreciating their contribution in driving the sustainability of the building industry though the delivery of high calibre projects.

Vikashnee Harbhajan, Executive Director of Master Builders KwaZulu-Natal indicated that the Association prioritises the promotion and development of the KZN building industry and seeks to inculcate a culture of building within its membership.

With projects ranging over a widely spread area, an impressive total of 94 entries were received of which 48 were for the Regional Health and Safety competition and 46 for the Excellence in Construction competition, highlighting that excellence within the KwaZulu-Natal building industry is alive and well.

The Regional Safety Competition is held annually to pay tribute to those who excelled in Occupational Health and Safety and thus contributed to the prevention of onsite fatalities and injuries. In 2015 standards were again extremely high with the majority of the sites entered scoring in excess of 90 percent. The disabling injury frequency rate (DIFR) was also extremely favourable with a large number of the sites operating at a DIFR of zero.

Special awards that recognise outstanding and positive contribution to the KwaZulu-Natal building industry were awarded as follows:

  • Zenzele Moses Bam received the Award of Merit for his positive contribution to the industry.
  • The annual award for Women in Construction went to Thobekile Ndlovu of Thobethulani Trading CC.
  • The Supplier of the Year was awarded to Builders.
  • Safety Person of the Year went to Derrin Egelhof of Liviero.